3 legislators sworn-in


Three members of Parliament (MPs), who were elected in the December 2020 by-elections, were sworn-in Wednesday at Parliament Building in Lilongwe.

Chief Justice Andrew Nyirenda, who administered oaths, advised the legislators to be impartial when executing their duties, further calling on them to defend the Republican Constitution.

The three are Mangochi East Constituency’s Idi Kalosi [United Democratic Front], Mangochi West’s Reuben Kanyama [independent] and Phalombe North independent MP Mavuto Bokosi.


“I emphasise, time and again, that if this oath becomes just an oath it will be meaningless and [it will be of value] only if it is embedded and reaffirmed in your day-to-day values and day-to-day activities.

“The oath must, therefore, establish a moral commitment on your part that links your personal conscience to public values,” he said.

The Chief Justice added that, after all the “multitude of promises” they made during the campaign period, the public trusted them by voting them into power and entrusted them to make laws that affect voters’ lives and promote their interest in the National Assembly.


Nyirenda also challenged the members to lead their constituents in fighting the Covid-19 pandemic.

Speaking to the press after taking the oath, the three legislators indicated that they would follow the Chief Justice’s counsel.

“The message from the Chief Justice has come at the right time because, for me to be in this position, it is the people who trusted me, hence that advice is very important so that we should be able to impartially serve without even looking at constituents’ political colours,” said Bokosi from Phalombe North.

The by-elections in the constituencies were conducted on December 15 last year after the courts nullified the 2019 elections due to irregularities.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker