4 nominated for Airtel Cup award

Gomezgani Zakazaka

Four players have been nominated for the Airtel Top 8 Cup player-of-the-tournament award.

A list of nominees that Football Association of Malawi (Fam) released Thursday comprises the Nyasa Big Bullets duo of strikers Babatunde Adepoju and Lanjesi Nkhoma as well as Silver Strikers gangling forward Stain Davie and left winger Zebron Kalima.

Fam Competitions and Communications Director Gomezgani Zakazaka said the competitions technical study group came up with the list following a thorough statistical analysis.


“A selected group of coaches under the National Coaches Association, who were selecting players-of-the-match in competition, and some sports journalists will vote for the award-winner,” Zakazaka said.

Babatunde helped Bullets win their first ever Airtel Top 8 Cup after scoring eight goals in three matches.

The Nigerian won one man-of-the-match award and also broke scoring records set by previous golden boot award winners Khumbo Ng’ambi, Joseph Kamwendo and Khuda Muyaba.


However, he did not feature in the final as he was suspended.

Kalima won two man-of-the-match awards in the competition after playing four games in which he netted one goal.

Davie finished second on the top goal scorers’ list with three goals and two assists from four matches.

Lanjesi scored Bullets’ equaliser in the final to take the encounter into post-match penalties and featured in all of the four matches that his team played in the competition.

Bullets lifted the cup after edging Silver 4-3 following a 1-1 stalemate in regulation time.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker