Abel Mkandawire drops senior players


By Mphatso Malidadi:

Newly appointed Malawi national

MKANDAWIRE— I will do my best

team Coach, Abel Mkandawire, has named a 25-member squad of local players to begin preparations for next month’s 2020 Olympic Games qualifier against Mozambique.


The players were picked following their impressive performance during a day-long mini tournament held at Civo Stadium in Lilongwe on Saturday.

After the tournament, which attracted three regional teams, Mkandawire retained the services of regular She- Flames defender Towera Vinkhumbo and also called up Asimenye Simwaba, Loveness Nyakamera, Enelesio Mhango and Ruth Mhango.

But the coach has left out senior players Pilirani Malola, Salome Vinkhumbo and Vanessa Chikupilu. The team is expected to commence training Monday.


Mkandawire said he was satisfied with the performance of the selected players and is confident of building a team that can compete for a place at the global event.

“All the players fought hard to get into the squad and those selected deserved it. We have a blend of senior and young players who showed good levels of tactical awareness. It is now up to us to build a team.

“I was mainly interested in the technical capabilities of the players and it is now my duty to get the best out of them with the time we have before meeting Mozambique,” he said.

The team is camping in Blantyre ahead of the first leg at Kamuzu Stadium in Blantyre on April 4.

Foreign-based players such as Tabitha and Temwa Chawinga and Sabina Thom are expected to join the team later.

The following is the full squad:

Goalkeepers-Samil Amidu (DD Sunshine), Mercy Sikelo (Skippers), Martha Banda (Blantyre Zero), Ruth Mhango (under 20)

Defenders-Fatsireni Kazembe (Skippers), Silvia Phiri, Moreen Phiri (CY Sisters), Ruth Nyirongo, Chimwemwe Madise (DD Sunshine), Emily Jossam (Skippers), Towera Vinkhumbo (Blantyre Zero), Patricia Nyirenda (Ntopwa).

Midfielders-Chikondi Gondwe (CY Sisters), Madyina Ngulube, Wezzie Mvula (DD Sunshine), Fanny Mwale (DD Sunshine), Chimwemwe Bonongwe, Bridget Mkuzilire (both Skippers), Asimenye Simwaba (Super Dynamos), Zainabu Kapanda Shira Dimba (both Blantyre Zero).

Strikers-Loveness Nyakamera (Skippers), Mary Chavinda (Blantyre Zero), Linda Kasenda (Skippers), Enelescio Mhango (DD Sunshine).

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker