Afcon line up complete


Fourteen African Cup of Nations qualifiers were played across the continent on Sunday as some teams looked to seal their berth at the 2017 finals in Gabon.

In Blantyre, Malawi defeated Swaziland 1-0 at home on Sunday, thanks to a Gerald Phiri Jnr’s strike early in the game at Kamuzu Stadium.

Elsewhere, Uganda booked their spot in Gabon, their first Nations Cup appearance in 38 years, when they beat Comoros 1-0 at a capacity Mandela National Stadium on Sunday afternoon.


Farouk Miya was the hero for The Cranes as he netted the winner with scenes of wild celebrations at the final whistle.

Togo dramatically booked their spot at the Finals with a comprehensive 5-0 victory over Djibouti at home. The Sparrow Hawks’ rout, coupled with other favourable results, will see them in Gabon early next year.

Ferebory Dore’s 81st minute goal helped Congo-Brazzaville beat the already qualified Guinea-Bissau 1-0 in a Group E game in Congo.


The Democratic Republic of Congo sealed their place as group winners when they trounced Central Africa Republic 4-1 at home while Burkina Faso came out 2-1 winners against Botswana.

Rainford Kalaba scored a late goal to allow Zambia to fight back and draw their game against Kenya. Ayub Timbe struck for the Harambee Stars.

Equitorial Guinea smashed South Sudan 4-0 at home while Guy Michel scored early in the piece as Guinea edged the already qualified Zimbabwe.

Mali showed why they could be a force in Gabon after comfortably disposing of Benin, 5-2, while Niger and Burundi was the only game of the day to have no goals.

In the late kick-offs, Tunisia easily beat Liberia 4-1 while Morocco comfortably dispatched minnows Sao Tome 2-0 in Rabat.

The continent’s number-one ranked side, Algeria, ended the group phase with a perfect record after routing Lesotho 6-0 in Blida with Riyad Mahrez getting his name on the score sheet twice.

Sunday’s results:

Malawi 1-0 Swaziland

Uganda 1-0 Comoros

Burkina Faso 2-1 Botswana

Zambia 1-1 Kenya

Congo 1-0 Guinea Bissau

Equatorial Guinea 4-0 South Sudan

Guinea 1-0 Zimbabwe

DR Congo 4-1 Central Africa

Mali 5-2 Benin

Niger 0-0 Burundi

Togo 5-0 Djibouti

Tunisia 4-1 Liberia

Morocco 2-0 Sao Tome

Algeria 6-0 Lesotho

The 16 qualified teams: Gabon (hosts); Tunisia, DR Congo, Mali, Burkina Faso, Guinea-Bissau, Morocco, Egypt, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Algeria, Senegal, Zimbabwe, Cameroon (respectively Group A to M winners); Uganda and Togo (two best runners-up).—Kwesesports

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker