Afrima awards to screen live on GOtv


Multichoice Thursday announced that the All Africa Music Awards (Afrima) will be screened live on GOtv from November 10 through to 12.

A press statement indicates that the awards will be screened on GOtv Max and GOtv Plus Channel 29.

The channels will go live with content from tomorrow at 23:00 CAT until Sunday November 13 at 21:00 CAT.


This is good news for Malawi which has two nominees— Tay Grin a nominee in the category of Best Male Artiste in Southern Africa for his song ‘Tola’ which features Vanessa Mdee and Dawson Kawerawera, a nominee in the category of Songwriter of the Year for the track ‘If’.

The two are all attending the grand finale.

Tay Grin said yesterday before departure that he was looking forward to winning the award.


“I will perform as well but, most importantly, I am praying for the best,” Tay Grin said.

The two nominees will make history for the country if they triumph since previous nominees – Zani Challe (2016) and Lawi (2014)— failed to win awards.

Afrima is one of the biggest music award events in Africa, attracting over 700 artistes from across the continent.

The awards, which are in their fourth year, will be held in Nigeria, which has been the host city since 2014 and will be co-hosted by multi-award winning artist and composer, Akon, and one of Cameroon’s biggest entertainment personalities and host Sophy.

“It is the first time that we have screened these spectacular awards live on our platforms. We hope to be able to keep showcasing these awards in the future, so that we can be part of celebrating the amazing musical talent that we have in our continent,” MultiChoice Malawi Sales and Marketing Manager, Chimwemwe Nyirenda, said yesterday.

The nominees, packed in over 33 regional and continental categories, are gunning for the coveted Afrima 23.9 karat gold-plated trophy.

Some of the awards set to be presented are Legend Award, Music/ Entertainment Journalist of the Year, Best African Jazz, Best African Pop, Best African Reggae and Songwriter of the Year.

Other well-known African music names on the Afrima nomination list include Becca ft Patoranking (Ghana), Yemi Alade and Tiwa Savage (Nigeria) in the Best Female in West Africa category; Eddy Kenzo (Uganda), Davido (Nigeria), Fally Ipupa (the Democratic Republic of Congo) in the Artiste of the Year Category; Darassa (Tanzania), Ebony (Ghana), The Dogg (Namibia) and Nyashiki (Kenya) in the African Fans Favourite Category.

Artists vying for Album of the Year award include Angola’s Anselmo Ralph, Dark Suburb (Ghana), Wizkid (Nigeria) and Hugh Masekela (South Africa).

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker