Anchor Industries win FMB T20


Anchor Industries have won this year’s T20 FMB Cricket Knockout tournament after beating Fargo Limited by 40 runs in the final at Mpingwe Sports Club on Sunday.

Anchor scored 164 runs in 20-overs. Suhail Goti was instrumental. He scored 37 runs and took three wickets. Deservedly, Goti was named player-of-the-tournament.

Fargo, chasing down the score, only managed 116 runs and all-out. Fargo’s Abid Raja scored 28 runs while Zahid Raja took four wickets.


Anchor captain, Saeed Limdawala, said they deserved to win having prepared intensively for the match.

“We play as a unit. We always help each other. It was not easy, but we were focused,” he said.

Fargo captain, Karamat Chaudhry, said they were unfortunate to lose.


“We gave out our best but it was not enough,” he said.

In other individual awards, Khalil Badat was voted best batsman while Zahid Rashid was named best bowler.

FMB general manager, Thomas Kadantot, said they were determined to help cricket develop.

“We have been associated with cricket for many years. But this is the second successive year we are supporting cricket through Mpingwe Sports Club. We want the game to develop,” he said.

During the prize presentation, Mpingwe Sports Club executive director Makbul Latif and sports director Abdul Wahab Jagot made a joint statement thanking FMB for supporting the tournament.

The pair also thanked 10 other companies that sponsored teams to compete in the tournament. The sponsorship was increased from K1million to K2 million.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker