Best Times


The leading media brand in the country, Times Group, has proved its media prowess again after getting away with the Best Print Media and Television House of the Year awards on top of several individual 2016/2017 Media Institute of Southern Africa(Misa) Malawi awards.

This year, Times Group has even added more on the individual awards list.

Times Group has been awarded for its fearless and relentless attack on any element of bad governance in the country and giving Malawians uniquely produced television programmes.


In the individual awards, correspondent and former Blantyre Newspapers Limited managing editor Brian Ligomeka won print media trophies in HIV and Aids, Tourism and Information and Communications Technology (ICT) categories.

Apart from going away with the best Water and Sanitation Print Media Reporter Award, Times Group investigative journalist, Josephine Chinele, has been awarded Hennox Mazengera trophy for her best story in finance.

The best agriculture reporter in print for the past year is Feston Malekezo and Charles Mpaka authored the best arts story.


Faith Kamtambe is the best in good governance reporting.

Mangochi-based Yohane Symon has been crowned the best in reporting human rights issues in the country.

Former Times Lilongwe bureau chief Deogratias Mmana emerged the best in investigative journalism after getting the Investigative Journalist of the Year prize.

The Sunday Times Editor Madalitso Musa is yet to find a match in piecing together a column after being crowned the best columnist for the second successive year.

In television reporting, Alick Ponje did a very good piece in girl child education while William Kumwembe proved to be the best in reporting on finance.

Whyghtone Kapasule is the best in agriculture reporting and the same applies to Mphatso Katona in ICT.

Times Group Editor-in- Chief George Kasakula, who led Times Group delegation to the awards gala, dedicated the awards to devoted Times Group products consumers.

“Our secret is teamwork and hard work. In whatever we do, we emphasise that when you work hard, you expect to be awarded. We are happy that we have been awarded for what we do. We would like to thank the board, management and the audience for their support and we promise to continue giving them the best,” Kasakula said.

Zodiak Broadcasting Station has been awarded Best Radio and Online Media House awards, Golden Matonga of Nation Publications Limited (NPL) got the Best Blogger Award and the overall individual winner was Albert Sharra of NPL.

Nobody was nominated for the lifetime achiever awards.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker