Big Bullets axe 8 veterans

Chiukepo, Sankhani, Mkanda, Sailesi among chopped players


TNM Super League champions Nyasa Big Bullets have taken a bold step, releasing eight players including forward Chiukepo Msowoya following the expiry of their respective deals.

Bullets confirmed the development in a statement Monday which showed that Chimango Kaira, Sankhani Mkandawire, Pilirani Zonda, Zicco Mkanda, Bright Munthali, Nelson Kangunje, Dalitso Sailesi and Msowoya had been offloaded.

“Nyasa Big Bullets will not be renewing contracts of the players whose deals have come to an end. All developments regarding the players extending their contracts, joining or rejoining the club will be officially communicated as soon as they are confirmed,” the statement reads.


Despite being veterans, the released players were part of the squad that defended the Super League title last season.

The development means Bullets Coach Kalisto Pasuwa will likely bring in new players ahead of the new season slated to kickoff on February 26.

Bullets will likely consider promoting some of the players from their reserve side, which is one of the best on the domestic scene.


Pasuwa was on holiday in his native Zimbabwe but was expected to return Monday to start preparations for the new season which kicks off on February 26.

Meanwhile, Mkandawire said he was not bitter.

“It was an honour to play for Bullets for over six years. I respect the decision of the club,” said Mkandawire, who played for teams such as Carara Kicks and Mbeya FC in South Africa and Tanzania, respectively.

The 31 year old was named in Flames provisional squad for 2021 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) finals squad but did not make it into the final 28-member squad.

Former Flames midfielder Sherry Msuku said some of the players had reached their terminal velocity.

“The harsh reality is that some have reached the retirement age. Of course, some can still play for one or two seasons,” Msuku said.

Several Super League clubs have been reshuffling their respective squads ahead of the new season.

Silver Strikers, Blue Eagles, Civil Service United, TN Stars and Karonga United already released some of the players.

Silver transfer-listed three players namely Hadji Wali, Mphatso Zongololo and Trevor Kalema whereas Civil released 10 players including Fletcher Bandawe, Chikondi Maloya, Isaac Msika, Kelvin Thotho, Ibrahim Sadik and Jaffalie Chande.

Similarly, Eagles released six players namely Lazarus Nyemera, Mphatso Philemon, Tony Mbulu, Brian Msumatiza, Patrick Phiri and Henry Misinjo.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker