Big Bullets, Nomads face 4-week break


The country’s football powerhouses, Nyasa Big Bullets and Be Forward Wanderers, face the prospect of being exempted from TNM Super League games for the next four weeks due to national football team engagements.

The Flames travel to Zimbabwe for a 2017 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier on Saturday before proceeding to Namibia for the Cosafa Castle Cup starting June 11.

In the provisional national team squad, Bullets have contributed eight players, whereas Nomads have six players.


There are prospects that the two teams will be on a month-long break if the Flames reach the final of the Cosafa Cup.

“It shows that we have the best squad. In recent games, we have seen great improvement from the players and we are not surprised that the majority of our players have been drafted into the national team squad,” Bullets Team Manager, Rahim Ishmael, said.

Nomads Team Manager, Steve Madeira, said their players’ involvement in the Flames might be a blessing in disguise.


“It might be a chance for us to sort out some of our problems and hopefully, we might comeback stronger,” Madeira said.

Super League of Malawi (Sulom) General Secretary, Williams Banda, said the league body might reschedule some games in the event that Bullets and Wanderers contribute more players. The final squad is yet to be announced.

Bullets have contributed Yamikani Fodya, John Lanjesi, Dalitso Sailesi, Pilirani Zonda, Enerst Kakhobwe, Chiukepo Msowoya , Muhamad Sulumba and Miracle Gabeya, whereas Wanderers have Francis Mlimbika, Peter Wadabwa, Stanely Sanudi, Jafali Chande, Isaac Kaliati and Rafiq Namwera.

Zimbabwe lead Group L with eight points followed by Swaziland on five points, and victory against Flames will see the Warriors qualify for next year’s Afcon finals in Gabon.

The Flames are anchoring the table with two points from four games and are still searching for first win in the qualifiers having lost two games and two draws.

At the Cosafa Cup to be held in Namibia, the 2015 Plate section winners (losers section) have been drawn alongside Lesotho, Angola and Mauritius.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker