Site icon The Times Group Malawi

By-election set for October 17

The Malawi Electoral Commission (Mec) has announced that it will hold by-elections in three constituencies and three wards that have been vacant for some time.

According to a statement signed by Mec Chairperson, Jane Ansah, the new date follows the passing of the national budget by Parliament.

“The Commission will hold stakeholders’ meetings on 16th August 2017 in all the six areas to explain more details about the electoral calendar. In coming up with the dates for the by-elections, the Commission has considered the need of the electorate to have representation in Parliament and councils but also the period that it takes for funds to be transferred from the Treasury to Mec accounts,” reads the statement in part.

The parliamentary by-elections will be held in: Lilongwe Msozi North Constituency, Lilongwe City South East Constituency and Nsanje Lalanje Constituency while the local council by-elections will be held in Mayani North Ward in Dedza North Constituency, Mtsiliza Ward in Lilongwe City West Constituency and Ndirande Makata Ward in Blantyre Malabada Constituency.

The by-elections were scheduled for June 6, 2017 in four of the areas but were postponed because government said funding would not be available. The remaining two areas have fallen vacant in between the period of postponement to date.

Exit mobile version