Carlsberg Cup national draw Wednesday


Football Association of Malawi (Fam) will this morning hold the national draw for the 2015 Carlsberg Cup at its headquarters at Chiwembe in Blantyre.

The draw will involve the 15 teams currently participating in the Super League and nine teams from the three regional leagues that made it from the regional qualifiers.

Fam’s competitions manager, Gomezgani Zakazaka, said the teams that finished in the top eight in the 2014 Super League season would be seeded from the preliminary phase.


“The preliminary phase will have seven Super League teams—the newly promoted three teams and the other four that finished between position nine and 12 last season—and the nine regional league teams. The eight winners from the preliminary round will then join the eight seeded teams for the Round of 16,” he said.

The teams that are eligible for the preliminary round draw are Mighty Be Forward Wanderers, Kamuzu Barracks, Epac FC, Airborne Rangers, Fisd Wizards FC, Dedza Young Soccer and Mzuni FC from the Super League.

Teams from the South League are Ndirande Icons, Max Bullets and Changalume Barracks.


Central Region teams are Master Security, Support Battalion and Silver Strikers Reserves.

Karonga United, Chirumba Barracks and OP FC made it from the Northern Region League.

The eight winners of the preliminary round matches will then join the eight seeded teams: Big Bullets, Moyale Barracks, Blue Eagles, Civo United, Silver Strikers, Red Lions, Mafco and Azam Tigers in the Round of 16 draw.

This season’s competition has already provided thrilling action with the underdogs once again getting one over the favourites in the regional qualifiers.

Pre-tournament favourites such as Blantyre United and last season’s finalists Zomba United have already taken a bow from the competition.

Carlsberg’s senior brands manager for alcoholics, Twikale Chirwa, said the sponsors were excited with the progress of the competition so far.

“We have already seen last year’s finalists bowing out of the competition. This shows that the competition has been high and teams are working hard to win the trophy,” he said.

Carlsberg renewed this year’s sponsorship at K30 million.

The champions will get K9 million while the runners-up will get K4.5 million.

Carlsberg will also dress all the semifinalists this year.

Bullets are the defending champions.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker