Castle renews Cosafa Cup sponsorship


Football Association of Malawi (Fam) has confirmed Plate Division champions the Flames’ participation in 2016 Cosafa Cup, which has received a boost following Castle Lagers’ return as title sponsor.

Fam general secretary, Suzgo Nyirenda, confirmed receiving Cosafa’s communication that the 14-member competition will be held in Namibia from May 15 to 29 at the Sam Nujoma Stadium and Independence Stadium in Windhoek.

“We are yet to be given details regarding the format which will determine at what stage Malawi will enter the competition – although the Fifa Coca-Cola rankings play a major role,” Nyirenda explained.


“As expected after winning the Plate everyone is expecting the team to move a step forward. However, the technical sub-committee will meet the technical panel on Fam’s expectation for the competition.”

The Council of Southern Africa Football Associations (Cosafa) will host the championship in conjunction with the Namibia Football Association (NFA).

In a statement yesterday, SABMiller general manager responsible for Castle Lager Africa, Alastair Hewitt, confirmed signing a sponsorship agreement with Cosafa for the next five years.


“We have recently built a new brewery in Okahanja in Namibia and this tournament provides us with an opportunity to profile the work that we do in football and also our commitment to the country of Namibia as a new commercial venture in the country,”Hewitt told Cosafa website.

NFA secretary general, Barry Rukoro, said Namibia’s Brave Warriors are ready to defend the 14-member cup they won in South Africa this year in May.

Cosafa president, Suketu Patel, said the tournament is hugely important for developing skills in the region, on and off the pitch.

“We are delighted that the future of the Cosafa Cup is secure and would like to extend our sincere thanks to Castle Lager for believing in the excellent development role that the competition plays in Southern Africa,” Patel is quoted as saying.

Malawi has never won the cup, but reached the final in 2002 and 2003 under Kim Splidsboel and Alan Gilet.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker