Coaches tip Mathews Sibale for best player


Some TNM Super League coaches believe that former Silver Strikers’ burly forward Mathews Sibale was the most outstanding in all competitions in the just-ended season.
The Daily Times had asked 14 out of 16 coaches which player they think was the overall best and based on what reason.
Overall, four coaches put their money on Sibale while two thought Red Lions’ Chikoti Chirwa was the most outstanding player.
Other two coaches opted for Be Forward Wanderers’ sensational midfielder Joseph Kamwendo as the best for the 2017 season.
Two other coaches opted for Nyasa Big Bullets defender Emmanuel Zoya while four coaches each put their money on Wanderers’ Alfred Manyozo Junior, Stanley Sanudi, Silver goalkeeper Brighton Munthali and Bullets’ Mike Mkwate.
Two coaches were not available for intervies.
The coaches felt that Sibale, who is the Golden Boot Award winner-designate with 16 goals, deserves the best player award after helping Silver to grab the Airtel Top 8 Cup.
Silver also finished on position three of the league’s log table for 2017.
“He was the reason behind Silver’s success as he scored most of the team’s vital goals,” said one of the coaches about the Mozambique’s Costa do Sol’s new signing.
Chirwa, who was the second choice of most coaches, was commended for a remarkable season for club and country.
“Red Lions struggled for the better part of the season but Chirwa was the most outstanding player throughout. He, eventually, earned his re-call-up to the senior national team and broke into the first XI,” he said.
Another coach heaped praises on Kamwendo for his consistency.
“He played a big role in Wanderers’ battle for the league championship. He played most games and scored important goals that won games for Wanderers.
“At his age, you cannot expect much from him but he defied that. He always raises the spirits of his players, and he is an important player at Wanderers,” he said.
The coaches also lauded Zoya for his discipline and incredible performance in the just-ended season.
Zoya scored vital goals for Bullets, as they won the Carlsberg Cup and finished on second place on the league’s log table.
However, former Bullets general secretary, Higger Mkandawire, differed with Sibale’s choice as the potential player of the year.
“The coaches are going for Sibale because he is a top goal-scorer but there are a number of things to consider when coming up with player of the season.
“In this case, Sibale had no impact on the national team level. For me, I would go for Chikoti because he had a tremendous season at club and national team level,” Mkandawire said.
Super League of Malawi will reward outstanding players for the season on January 26 in Blantyre. However, the forthcoming awards are based on league performance.
How coaches voted
Lloyd Nkhwazi (Dwangwa)— Stanley Sanudi, Be Forward Wanderers
Temwa Msuku (Mafco)— Emmanuel Zoya, Nyasa Big Bullets
Audlow Makonyola (ex-Blue Eagles)—Chikoti Chirwa, Red Lions
Lovemore Fazili (Silver Strikers)—Brighton Munthali, Silver
Patrick Kulemeka (Azam Tigers)— Did not vote Rodgers Yasin (Nyasa Big Bullets)—Did not vote
Charles Kamanga (Moyale Barracks)—Emmanuel Zoya, Bullets
Yasin Osman (Wanderers)— Joseph Kamwendo, Wanderers
Alex Ngwira (Mzuni)—Mathews Sibale
Kondwani Mwalweni (Chitipa United)—Mike Mkwate, Bullets
Nelson Chirwa (Red Lions)— Chirwa
Franco Ndawa (Civil Sporting Club)—Joseph Kamwendo, Wanderers
Abbas Makawa (Masters Security FC)—Sibale
Billy Phambala (KB)—Sibale
Macdonald Mtetemera—Alfred Manyozo, Wanderers
Peter Mponda (Wizards)— Sibale

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker