ConCourt judges nominated for ‘bravery’


Malawi five judges who heard a case on the outcome of May 21, 2019 presidential elections, have been included on a shortlist of three nominees for the 2020 Chatham House Prize “for their bravery”.

The Chatham House is a leading centre for research and analysis of international affairs.

A letter regarding the nomination from the Director of the Chatham House, Robin Niblett addressed to Judge President Healey Potani has said the five Malawian judges have made a strong impression of integrity.


“The bravery shown by you and your fellow honourable Justices Ivy Kamanga, Redson Kapindu, Dingiswayo Madise and Mike Tembo in protecting the constitution process has made a strong impression on our research programmes,” reads part of the letter.

In 2005, Chatham House inaugurated a new international award, the Chatham House Prize that is presented every year.

After the five judges nullified the last year’s presidential elections, many people have been praising the judges for being strong and delivering such a ruling.


The Malawi Electoral Commission (Mec) had initially declared former president Peter Mutharika winner of the elections. But the judgement by the five judges paved way for the holding of June 23, 2020 fresh election which President Lazarus Chakwera won.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker