D-Day: Mec hopes for peaceful by-elections


Malawi Electoral Commission (Mec) has said all is set for today’s by-elections in Nkhata Bay Central Constituency, Chikwemba and Lalanje wards in Blantyre and Nsanje District, respectively.

“The three phases [voter verification, campaign and distribution of electoral materials] which we have completed today [Monday] went on smoothly with no challenges at all, except that the numbers during voter verification were not as impressive. But we are hopeful that tomorrow [today] everything will go on smoothly,” said Mec Commissioner Anthony Mukumbwa.

The seat for Nkhata Bay Central Constituency was being held by Democratic Progressive Party (DPP)’s Symon Vuwa Kaunda and was nullified in April this year by the Supreme Court of Appeal.


Six candidates competed for the seat in the 2019 parliamentary poll and these were Justin Banda of UTM, Gabriel Chirwa of United Democratic Front, Vuwa Kaunda, Mhone, Helen Mwale of TPM and Jolly Nyimba of Malawi Congress Party (MCP).

Three of the candidates pulled out of the race leaving it to Chirwa, Vuwa Kaunda and Mhone. Tonse Alliance partners have been supporting Mhone during campaign.

At least 17, 684 people are expected to vote in the Nkhata Bay Central Constituency by-election.


In Nsanje Lalanje, the by-election will be held following the death of DPP ward councillor Hashim Chimuti.

Four candidates are contesting for the seat which are Abdulhackeem Hassan of MCP, Fraction Lapozo, (independent), Gerald Paul of DPP and Henry Seda (independent).

In Chikwembere ward, six candidates are contesting for the seat. These are independent candidate Joyce Chinkwita, Flossie Hera of DPP, Nelson Kalumbi of UTM, Wyson Makungwa of MCP, Jacks Nkhoma of UDF and Benny Samson (independent).

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker