Deadline for South Sudan unity government looms


Rival leaders in war-torn South Sudan face a February 22 deadline to form a long-delayed government of national unity.

But just a few days before the milestone, hopes for a breakthrough dampened after Riek Machar, a former vice president and leader of the Sudan People’s Liberation Movement-in-Opposition (SPLM-IO), expressed his dissatisfaction with a peace proposal made by his rival, President Salva Kiir.

Announcing a “painful” compromise, Kiir on Saturday said the world’s youngest country would return to a system of 10 states from 32, a key opposition demand, plus the three “administrative areas” of Pibor, Ruweng and Abyei.


A contentious issue that has lingered for several years, the number of states is one of the main sticking points of a peace agreement that has faltered on several fronts.

While Machar said he appreciated Kiir’s decision to “revert to 10 states”, he expressed his dissatisfaction with the creation of the three administrative areas.

In a statement calling Kiir to reconsider his decision, Machar said the establishment of the three areas “opens up another Pandora’s box” that defeated the purpose of reverting to 10 states.


“The refusal of Dr Riek Machar to accept the … three administrative areas … is a negotiating position from [his] SPLM/A-IO – it is not rejection of 10 states,” Okuk said.

When it gained independence from Sudan in 2011, South Sudan had 10 states, as set out in its constitution.

Two years later, the country descended into war when Kiir accused his former deputy, Machar, of plotting a coup.

The conflict has so far killed at least 380,000 people and forced millions from their homes, with nearly half the country in dire poverty.—Al Jazeer

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker