Divisions rock Nomads over commercialisation


Divisions have emerged between Mighty Wanderers executive committee and the team’s taskforce on the composition of the board.

Some members of the executive committee have proposed that the board should comprise 15 members instead of three as proposed by the taskforce.

The team had two separate virtual meetings on Wednesday and Thursday this week and agreed to stop the taskforce from registering the team as a private entity without proper consultation.


But the executive committee was expected to hold another meeting today to finalise the discussions with the taskforce which is headed by Simon Sikwese, who is also the club’s chairperson, Humphery Mvula and Gift Mkandawire.

However, Sikwese was yet to respond to our questionnaire as we went to press.

Nomads vice chairperson, Chris Kananji, was reluctant to comment on the matter.


“I am not comfortable to give details on the issue but I do not have problems with registration of the team as a limited company,” Kananji said.

Some members of the executive committee who took part in the meetings include Kananji, vice general secretary Adela Migogo, vice treasurer, Dan Nkumba and co-opted treasurer Robert Mbedza.

Our investigations indicate that the taskforce has made strides to ensure that the team is registered.

Member of the taskforce, Mkandawire, who is also Wanderers former chairperson, confirmed that the meeting took place.

“Indeed, we met and we are making headway but talk to the chairperson for details,” Mkandawire said.

At its last meeting at Limbe Country Club, the taskforce made several resolutions, which include reducing the squad to 25 players next season.

It was also agreed to speed up the process of registering the club and also set up a subcommittee to engage the government to assist in paying debts incurred during Caf Champions League participation in 2018.

The meeting also agreed to relinquish their duties once the registration exercise has been completed and that those appointed into the Board should serve for two years.

Some members of the taskforce include former General Secretary Mike Butao, Ernest Maganga, Harry Msiska, Dida Zingwangwa, Mike Missi, Melvin Nkunika and Dave Pemba.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker