Site icon The Times Group Malawi

DRC announces new government

AT THE HELM— Tshisekedi

The Democratic Republic of the Congo has announced a new coalition government, seven months after the inauguration of President Felix Tshisekedi.

Announced yesterday by the president’s spokesperson, the power-sharing agreement saw 23 members of the executive drawn from Tshisekedi’s Direction for Change party and the remaining 42 from former long-time president Joseph Kabila’s Common Front for Congo (FCC) coalition.

The mining portfolio went to Willy Samsoni, a former mines minister in the local government of Haut Katanga province, while DRC’s former director general of taxes Sele Yalaghuli was named finance minister.

Ngoy Mukena, a close ally of Kabila, was named defence minister.

“The government is finally here … the president has signed the decree and we will begin work soon,” Prime Minister Sylvestre Ilunga Ilukamba told reporters.

Ilukamba said the delay in forming the government was a result of both sides needing time to “remove everything that could be an obstacle” to its “functioning”.

Around three-quarters of those in the new administration were serving in government for the first time, he added, hailing this as an “important innovation”.

Tshisekedi took office in January after winning a December 30 election which observers said was marred by irregularities and opponents denounced as rigged.

The 56-year-old beat Kabila’s hand-picked candidate Emmanuel Ramazani Shadary and rival opposition candidate Martin Fayulu, among others, in the presidential ballot.— Al Jazeera

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Exit mobile version