Election strides

Army teams submit more names

We want to
continue being

Super League of Malawi (Sulom) elections managers, Crowe Horwath Malawi, Monday released the list of delegates that are expected to vote during polls slated for Nkopola Lodge in Mangochi on Saturday.

However, the auditing firm has warned against substituting names of voters at the 11th hour, saying only those with valid reasons, including funeral, might be considered.

According to the rules, each club is entitled to three votes, hence submitting names of at least three officials.


The list comprises 55 delegates but only 48 will be eligible to vote on the day.

Interestingly, Crowe Horwath Malawi Director Chifundo Makande said army teams except Red Lions, due to the nature of their job, have submitted four potential names for delegates as others might be engaged on the day.

“Four Malawi Defence Force teams [Moyale, Kamuzu Barracks and Mafco] have submitted at least four names each of delegates. They have done this as other officials risk last minute engagements at work,” he said.


Civil Service United have submitted names of five delegates while other teams that have submitted four names include Bangwe All Stars and Nyasa Big Bullets whereas the rest of the teams have submitted three delegates each.

Makande said his body has released the names in advance to give a chance to all the candidates to campaign.

“We want to continue being transparent to everyone contesting. This reduces chances of corruption and gives a fair advantage to all the contestants.

“We will only allow three people per team but not late submissions unless there is a funeral or other emergencies,” Makande said.

Former Flames striker Peterkins Kayira has hailed Crowe Horwath Malawi for handling the process professionally.

“We want a free and fair election. We want officials to win on merit because of their manifesto and not because the system favoured them. This firm, right from the onset, has been professional and this is what we want to continue seeing in future,” Kayira said.

Sulom incumbent President Tiya Somba Banda will defend his post when he faces Nyasa Big Bullets Vice President Fleetwood Haiya while incumbent Vice President Colonel Gilbert Mitawa will take on lawyer and former Mighty Mukuru Wanderers general secretary David Kanyenda.

Sulom General Secretary Williams Banda will face former Silver Strikers chief executive officer Thokozani Chimbali.

The battle for the Vice General Secretary post will involve Major Flao Mwale and Donnex Chilonga.

Allie Mwachande will be elected Treasurer unopposed following the withdrawal of Malinda Chinyama.

Similarly, Solomon Gomezgani Mchawi will become Sulom Legal adviser unopposed whereas Daudi Mtanthiko, Charles Mwanyungwa, Ronald Chiwaula, Henry Banda, Chimwemwe Nyirenda, Godfrey Makawano, William Nhlane, Akuzike Kafwamba and Mavuto Missi are vying for executive member posts.

Show More

Related Articles

Check Also

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker