FAM presidential hopeful, Yabwanya, others cleared to contest in Fam polls


FOOTBALL Association of Malawi (Fam’s) Appeals Committee has given Willy Yabwanya-Phiri the clearance to contest in the Fam polls after his appeal against his disqualification for the December 12 polls was successful.

Fam Electoral Committee nullified Yabwanya’s nomination on the basis that it did not meet the recommendations of Article 34.2 of Fam’s statutes which states that the candidates must have residence within the territory of Fam to be eligible for the polls.

The Karonga United owner was ruled to have residence of Canada, hence his ineligibility.


Yabwanya challenged the decision and filed his appeal last week Thursday through his lawyer John Gift Mwakhwawa.

The Appeals Committee met on Tuesday evening in Blantyre where Yabwanya’s appeal was successful and was given the clearance to contest for the Fam presidency against the incumbent Walter Nyamilandu and Wilkins Mijiga.

In a press release signed by Fam Electoral Committee chairperson Justice Dingiswayo Madise, Yabwanya has been cleared alongside aspirant for the vice presidency James Mwenda and committee member aspirant Hubert Mfune.


Mwenda was challenged by his opponent Tiya Somba Banda for failure to submit a copy of a Malawi School Certificate of Education (MSCE), which is a prerequisite for one to be eligible to contest in the polls.

Mfune was disqualified on similar grounds.

The three appear on the final list of the candidates for the elections that will take place at Sunbird Nkopola Lodge.

Aspirant for the position of committee member Paul Mzungu, however, misses out after his disqualification was upheld.

According to the list, candidates for the Fam presidency are Walter Nyamilandu-Manda, Wilkins George Mijiga and Willy Yabwanya-Phiri.

Aspirants for the vice-president position are Tiyanjane Somba-Banda and James Leonard Mwenda.

Othaniel Hara and Pikawo Ngalamira would face off for the position of second vice president.

Aspirants for the position of committee member are Jabbar Alide, Alfred Gunda, Masauko Medi, Hubert Mfune, Daud Mtanthiko, Flora Mwandira and Rashid Ntelera.

“This is the final list following the determinations passed by the Fam’s Appeals Committee during the hearing on 24th November 2015 at Chiwembe Technical Centre. We expect a violence-free campaign from all those contesting for positions in the Fam’s Executive Committee,” reads the statement signed by Justice Madise.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker