FDH Cup national list ‘complete’


The national phase list of the inaugural K90 million FDH Bank Cup is almost complete after the conclusion of the regional stage.

At regional phase, the competition attracted 62 teams from the three regional leagues, with Southern Region contributing 20 teams whereas 18 and 14 came from Central and Northern Region, respectively.

At the end of the regional phase, Southern Region identified six teams whereas four teams will represent the Northern region.


Polytechnic, Neno Giants, Nyasa Big Bullets Reserve, Wanderers Reserve, Immigration and Sable Farming qualified for the national phase whereas the Northern Region will be represented by Rumphi United, Luwinga United, Baka City and Ekwendeni United.

In the Central Region, five teams, namely Kasungu Police, Dedza Young Soccer, Dedza Dynamos, Ngolowindo and Dwangwa United, have sailed through to the national phase.

The match involving Airborne Rangers and Mbavi United ended prematurely at 1-1 in the 89th minute after the latter reportedly protested a penalty which was awarded to Rangers.


This means 15 teams from the regional leagues have joined the 16 teams from the TNM Super League.

All the regional teams that have qualified for the national stage will get K500,000 plus a set of uniform and two match balls.

According to Football Association of Malawi (Fam), the draw for national finals is expected to be conducted this week.

During the national phase, the top eight teams during the 2021 TNM Super League first round will be seeded.

FDH Bank plc Marketing Manager Ronald Chimchere said they were satisfied with the level of competition during regional phase.

“We have witnessed top class football from the regional teams. Our objective is to see the standards of football grow and that is why we pumped a lot of money in the competition,” Chimchere said after watching the match between Dynamos and Ekas FC at Civo Stadium on Sunday.

Champions of the inaugural FDH Cup will pocket K25 million, the highest prize money in domestic football, whereas the runners will get K8 million.

Semifinalists will get K2 million whereas quarter finalists will pocket K1 million. Top goal scorer of the competition will receive K200,000. There will also be Discovery of the Competition Award.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker