Ferroviario de Nampula win Big 4 Bonanza


By Peter Kanjere:

Mozambique’s Ferroviario de Nampula came, saw and conquered as they returned home with the championship of the inaugural Nyasa Big Four Bonanza at Kamuzu Stadium in Blantyre Monday.

Nampula won the championship on goal aggregate after hosts Nyasa Big Bullets had come from behind to settle for a 1-1 draw against rivals Be Forward Wanderers at the same venue Monday.


The railway men from Mozambique’s Northern Province finished at par on five points with Wanderers from three games each.

Nampula, who drew 1-1 with bottom-placed Zimbabwe’s Chicken Inn in an earlier kick-off at the same venue Monday, scored four goals and let in three whereas Wanderers netted three goals and let in two.

In Monday’s decisive second game, former Nampula forward Zicco Mkanda thought he had handed Wanderers the championship when he finished off a well-worked out counterattack move after clearing Bullets’ cornerkick in the 45th minute.


But, when Wanderers snatched the first-half lead, Pasuwa changed tactics after the break.

He threw in more attackers—Dalitso Sailesi and Precious Phiri-replacing Nelson Kangunje and left-back Yamikani Fodya, respectively.

Phiri created the leveler when he outpaced his marker on the right wing before cutting back for Henry Kabichi to sweep the ball to the far bottom corner, giving Wanderers goalkeeper William Thole no chance in the 47th minute.

Wanderers responded by introducing towering forward Babatunde Adepoju in place of Mischeck Botomani whereas Simeon Singa replaced Francisco Madinga but the game remained cagey with few chances.

Mkanda had a chance to grab a second goal for Wanderers but he placed his effort over the post whereas substitute Luke Chima forced Bullets goalkeeper Ernest Kakhobwe into a point-blank save that settled the match for a draw.

Bullets: Kakhobwe, John Lanjesi, Fodya (Phiri), Miracle Gabeya, Sankhani Mkandawire, Chimango Kayira, Kabichi, Righteous Banda, McFarlen Mgwira, Kangunje (Sailesi), Chiukepo Msowoya (Musa Manyenje).

Wanderers: Thole, Bongani Kayipa, Lucky Malata, Francis Mlimbika, Ted Sumani (Kaziputa), Alfred Manyozo, Mpinganjira (Zulu), Kondwani Kamanga, Madinga (Singa), Botomani (Adepoju), Mkanda.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker