Film festival set for November 5


The Focus on Ability Film Festival Malawi, driven by Focus on Ability Society (Foas) in partnership with Nova Employment of Australia, will be held on November 5 2022 at Malawi University of Business and Applied Sciences’ new auditorium in Blantyre.

The free entry red carpet event will feature screenings of short films and documentaries and award winners.

The festival aims at raising awareness of the of people with disability.


Foas Executive Director Macdonald Nyirenda said Tuesday they were excited to hold the screenings and awards for the 2022 edition.

“After successfully facilitating public voting for favourite films and documentaries, we are now ready to screen these films and award the winners. We also would like to invite the general public, non-governmental organisations, companies and government organisations to this free entry and lunch event,” Nyirenda said.

He said doors were open for partners to sponsor the festival.


Nyirenda said they were also happy in that, this year, the festival received 46 films from Malawi, more than any other country competing at international level.

“November 5th event is for national awards where two top films or documentaries will be awarded $500 each and two top people with disability (as best actors) featured in participating entries will be awarded $250 each,” he said.

The theme for the competition this year is ‘Focus on the Ability’ and, according to Nyirenda, their goal is to bring to light talents of persons with disabilities.

The country made history in 2020 when Martin Mkandawire’s Under Heavy Rock came out top, outclassing several films both local and international to grab the top prize of $5,000 for the Judges Choice Best International Short Film.

Last year, two filmmakers and two persons with disabilities who scooped the awards on the local scene were Aram Nyondo and Alfred Zgambo, who won with their films Home is a Place Like This and Aliyense Ali Ndi Luso, respectively. They pocketed $500 each.

In the category of best actors (persons with disabilities featuring in the film), the winners were Luis Nsomba for the film The Cornerstone and Agnes Kachule with a movie titled I Do Believe. The two received $250 each.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker