Flames Coach names provisional squad


Malawi National Football Team Coach, Ronny van Geneugden, Monday named a 26-member provisional squad of home-based players with Captain Dave Banda, Chimango Kayira and Joseph Kamwendo dropped.

Van Geneugden, who is trying to introduce a new possession-based attacking philosophy, insisted that the dropped players, who include Blue Eagles’ Gilbert Chirwa and Harvey Nkacha of Kamuzu Barracks (KB), might be victims of their teams’ poor form.

“Some of them are not in the best form so it is now up to the players that I have called up to prove to me that they deserve the call-up. Khuda [Muyaba] and Chikoti [Chirwa] showed some positional discipline and some level of technical ability,” he told the press at Mpira Village in Chiwembe Township, Blantyre Monday.


Van Geneugden has recalled Red Lions’ Chikoti Chirwa and Innocent Bokosi, Young Chimodzi Junior and Green Harawa from Silver Strikers, among others.

The coach has also dropped Nyasa Big Bullets striker Muhammad Sulumba while also summoning Moyale Barracks’ Muyaba and Jabulani Linje from Be Forward Wanderers.

The Belgian, who is winless in three games, has also reshuffled his coaching panel by re-deploying Peter Mponda to the position of an assistant trainer, at par with Gerald Phiri Senior and Deklerk Msakakuona.


Football Association of Malawi (Fam) President, Walter Nyamilandu, in a separate interview yesterday, insisted that the coach felt Mponda was being underutilised and recommended the hiring of a non-technical Team Manager with the background in football management. James Sangala is now the Caretaker Team Manager.

The Flames have instantly regrouped ahead of the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations home qualifier against the Comoros Islands on June 10 followed by the Cosafa Castle Cup in South Africa from June 25 to July 9.

Full squad:

Goalkeepers: Lemani Nthala (KB), William Thole, Ernest Kakhobwe, Brighton Munthali (Silver).

Defenders: Denis Chembezi (Wizards), Stanley Sanudi, Lucky Malata, Francis Mulimbika (Wanderers), Pilirani Zonda, Yamikani Fodya, John Lanjesi (Bullets), Chisomo Mpachika (Silver).

Midfielders: Simeon Singa (Wizards), Chirwa ( Lions), Ben Mbewe (Mafco), Levison Maganizo (Silver), Young Chimodzi Jnr (Silver).

Strikers/wingers: Binwell Katinji, Harawa (Silver), Dalitso Sailesi (Bullets), Linje (Wanderers), Micium Mhone (Eagles), Manase Chiyesa (KB), Bokosi (Lions), Muyaba (Moyale), Yamikani Chester (Wanderers).

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker