Flames stars miss out on Afcon Caf awards


By Mabvuto Kambuwe  

Despite impressive performances in 2021 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) group stage, Flames players missed on Caf awards.

Confederation of African Football (Caf) Technical Study Group released their best of the group stage following the conclusion of the phase.


Surprisingly, no Malawian player has made it into the group-stage select side which has four Cameroon players whereas Egypt and Nigeria contributed three players each.

Senegal, who were in the same group with Malawi, have contributed two players alongside Morocco, Guinea and Mali.

Ivory Coast, Tunisia, Gabon, Gambia and Equatorial Guinea have each contributed one player.


The group-stage select comprises goalkeeper Mohamed Elshennway of Egypt with Achraf Hakim (Morocco), William Troost- Ekong (Nigeria), Ahmed Hegazy (Egypt) and Ghislain Konan (Cote d’voire) forming a back four.

The midfield comprises Yves Bissouma (Mali), Naby Keita (Guinea) and Musa Barrow (Gambia).

Upfront, Nigerian Simon Moses, Vincent Abubakar (Cameroon) and Sofiame Boufal (Morocco) are leading the attack.

Twelve players have been named on the bench of the select side but again there is no Malawian player.

Nigerian coach Augustine Eguavoen was named the best manager of the group stage whereas Abubakar won the best player and best scorer award.

The youngest player award went to Ilaix Moriba of Guinea whereas Shennawy was named the best goalkeeper.

Meanwhile, football consultant Kevin Moyo said the select was a true a reflection of the performances of group stage.

“I am not surprised because the Flames are playing as a unit,” Moyo said.

Comoros Islands, who also qualified for the knockout stage was named as the surprise team of the group stage. Equatorial Guinea won the revelation team award.

So far, Flames striker Gabadinho Mhango, Francisco Madinga and Charles Thom have been some of the best players in the group stage.

Mhango scored a brace in a 2-1 victory over Zimbabwe.

He was also named man-of-the-match whereas Thom was won the same award on his debut in a 0-0 stalemate against Senegal.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker