Four battle for Presidential honours


Four teams will this Saturday begin their campaign for the Presidential women’s football national championship at Mpira Stadium in Chiwembe Township, Blantyre.

Following a draw held at Mpira Village on Wednesday, Blantyre Zero will date Moyale Sisters in the first fixture before DD Sunshine date Ntopwa in the next semifinals.

The losers will meet Sunday to fight for the third place while the winners will meet in the final.


National Women’s Football Association (NWFA) Chairperson, Sugzo Ngwira, said the Southern region has been privileged to feature two teams as part of their hosting rights.

“We would like to urge all to patronise Chiwembe and see how for themselves how women’s football has matured. All teams are at their prime and time to witness entertaining matches full of action,” Ngwira said.

She said such competitions help uncover and groom players.


“We need our players to be involved in competitions to be strong for international assignments,” Ngwira said.

Recently, the Malawi women’s under-20 national football team bowed out of Fifa Under-20 World Cup after going down to Zimbabwe on 2-1 aggregate.

The first leg ended one-all at Kamuzu Stadium before losing the return game 1-0 in Bulawayo.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker