Frank Chitembeya pulls out of Saturday’s polls


The drama surrounding Athletics Association of Malawi (AAM) elections set for this weekend refuses to die with beleaguered incumbent general secretary Frank Chitembeya withdrawing his candidature for the post of president.

The development leaves Kondwani Chamwala without a competitor for the hot seat.

Also likely to go unopposed is Dennis Phiri, who is the only nominee for the position of first vice president.


Chitembeya said he has decided against contesting following a letter from World Athletics to Ministry of Youth and Sports Principal Secretary Isaac Katopola indicating that the elections will not be recognised if the beleaguered AAM committee, led by Godfrey Phiri, is not involved in the organisation.

“I got a call on Monday from one of the elections’ organising committee members advising me that I got nominated and I need to send my qualifications.

But I made it clear that I will not contest as the elections are not eligible.


“World Athletics clearly stated that it will not recognise the committee to be ushered into office this weekend and there are no two ways about it. The world body still recognises our committee for now. So I am definitely out of this,” Chitembeya said.

However, the elections committee instituted by Malawi National Council of Sports and chaired by Justice Sylvester Kalembera has issued a final list of nominees ahead of the polls.

The development means the elections will proceed as planned.

Kalembera said the list has names of all candidates nominated for positions of president, first vice president, second vice president, general secretary, vice general secretary, treasurer and committee members.

The full list is as follows:

President: Frank Chitembeya (withdrawn) and Kondwani Chamwala

First vice president: Dennis Phiri

Second vice president: Bertha Nyasulu, Ivy Chinangwa and Ronald Kuchipanga

General secretary: Mzee Makawa and Nicholas Kanyenda

Vice general secretary: Charles Banda and Ken Phiri

Treasurer: Adron Msowoya and Drake Chithambo.

Members: Thandiwe Mbeya, Stanley Tchuwa, Agness Kuntambira, Arnold Maseko, Efrida Mkandawire, Emmanuel Mvula, Henderson Chilenga, Irene Luka, Josephus Malume, Maggie Nyoni and Kenneth Dzekedzeke.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker