Site icon The Times Group Malawi

In golf size can matter— Part 2

By definition, the teeing ground is a rectangular area two club-lengths in depth, the front and sides of which are defined by the outside limits of the two tee-markers.

The adult male golfer, equipped with a 45” driver, will be allowed to tee his ball within a larger area than his junior counterpart equipped with just a 30” driver.

A similar example is the allowable area for dropping when taking relief.

The adult male golfer using a standard length driver to measure (a) one club-length from the nearest point of relief under rules 24 or 25; or (b) two club-lengths from where his ball last crossed the margin of a lateral water hazard under rule 26; or (c) two club-lengths from where his ball lies for an unplayable ball under rule 28, will be able to drop within a larger area than the junior using a much shorter driver when measuring the one club-length or two club-lengths for her allowable dropping area.

One’s stature comes into play when considering the height at which the ball must be dropped when taking relief.

All players are required to drop from shoulder height. Therefore, the shorter player will be dropping from a height that is nearer to the ground than the height from which the taller player drops his ball.

The result is that the ball dropped by the shorter player will probably not bounce or roll as much as the ball dropped by the taller player once it strikes the ground.

According to rule 20-2c, once the ball is dropped, it must be re-dropped if it rolls and comes to rest more than two club-lengths from where it first struck a part of the course.

It would seem that the player who measures the dropping area with a longer driver may not have to re-drop as often as the player who measures with a shorter driver.

But then again, the player establishing the allowable dropping area with a longer club will likely be dropping his ball from an increased height so his ball will be striking the ground with more velocity and his ball may bounce or roll farther after first striking the ground. So who knows?


The author is a R&A Certified Tournament Administrator and Referee and he is a Teaching Professional. He is also a member of the Professional Golfers Association of South Africa. Feedback: or call +265 888 346 510

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Exit mobile version