K1 million for National Literary Award winner


The Malawi Writers Union (Mawu) National Literary Award, formerly Peer Gynt Award, prize presentation ceremony will be held tomorrow afternoon at Jacaranda Cultural Centre (JCC) in Blantyre.

Mawu President, Sambalikagwa Mvona, said Thursday that they received 26 entries and that, out of these, seven were from women.

He said the winner in the competition, which was announced in May last year and submission of entries closed in December, will walk away with K1 million.


“We have seven recipients; K1 million for winner, K500,000 for second position while the one on third position will get K200,000. We also have consolation prizes which were supposed to go to three but there was a tie so we have four. These will receive K50,000 each,” Mvona said.

The Mawu leader added that the ceremony would be presided over by Minister of Local Government, Kondwani Nankhumwa.

In the competition, writers were asked to submit works with not less than 40,000 words. One of the conditions was that the works should not have been published before.


Writers were also asked to write on any theme, provided the work was for an adult novel.

The competition is being funded by Hivos Foundation through the Royal Norwegian Embassy.

Apart from the prize presentation ceremony, Mvona also said there would be a launch of an anthology of short stories by women writers A Grafted Tree and Other Stories: An Anthology of Women Writers in Malawi.

Matilda Phiri, Patience Chilinjala, Thokozani Kasiya and Demetria Herman Banda are some of the women writers who have contributed their works to the anthology.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker