Lawson Chilewe, Daniel Dzinkambani Carlsberg top scorers


Prison United forward, Lawson Chilewe and Daniel Dzinkambani of Ginnery Corner FC (not the coach) have won the 2016 Carlsberg Cup top goal scorers’ award with five goals apiece.

The two players will share K200, 000 as prize money for the accolade. This is the second consecutive year that the award has eluded TNM Super League players.

Last year, Justin Duwe from Chipiku League side, Dulli Rangers, won the award.


There is also tough competition for the 2016 Carlsberg Cup Discovery of- the Tournament with three players fighting for the accolade.

Nyasa Big Bullets new catch, Collen Nkhulambe, Blue Eagles new goalkeeper, George Chauya and Be Forward Wanderers new goalkeeper, Moses Phiri, are in the race for the award which attracts a whopping K200, 000.

The winner will be decided by a group of sports journalists.


Interestingly, the three players have joined Super League teams having impressed during the tournament.

Nkhulambe moved to Bullets from Mzuzu United, Chauya joined Eagles from Mangochi Police whereas Phiri was signed by Nomads from Prison.

Football Association of Malawi (Fam) Competitions Manager, Gomegzani Zakazaka, described this year’s competition as the most exciting ever.

Nomads were crowned champions of the Carlsberg Cup for a second successive season after beating Silver Strikers 5-4 on post-match penalties at Kamuzu Stadium on Saturday.

Since the competition was introduced in 2000, Wanderers have won it thrice followed by Bullets, who have won it twice. Moyale Barracks, Eagles and Kamuzu Barracks have each won it once.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker