Lazarus Chakwera first in nomination papers presentation


By Peter Kanjere:

Malawi Congress Party leader Lazarus Chakwera and President Peter Mutharika will be the first and one but last, respectively, to present their nomination papers to Malawi Electoral Commission (Mec) next week, ahead of the May 21 2019 Tripartite Elections.

Chakwera will, on Monday, open the floor in presenting nomination forms at Chichiri International Conference Centre, commonly known as Comesa Hall, in Blantyre, Mec Chief Elections Officer, Sam Alfandika, announced Wednesday.


“The commission has put in place security measures to ensure the safety of the candidates and their supporters.

“However, candidates and their supporters are also encouraged to maintain peace and order and avoid provocative actions in the event that they meet with counterparts at the presentation venues,” Alfandika says.

Chakwera will submit his paper at 9am, followed by John Chisi of Umodzi Party at 11am, independent Florence Fulayi (1pm) then Cassim Chilumpha (Tikonze Peoples Party) at 2pm.


The following day, it would be the turn of Peter Kuwani (Mbakuwaku Movement for Development), Enock Chihana (Alliance for Democracy), Rhodrick Makhambera (independent), People’s Party’s Joyce Banda and Chris Bulachano (Democratic Federal Alliance).

The schedule further shows that Vice-President and UTM leader, Saulos Chilima, will lead the nominations for Wednesday, followed by Chris Daza (Democratic People’s Congress), Sally Kumwenda (Leadership with Compassion) and Ras Chikomeni Chirwa (independent).

United Democratic Front’s Atupele Muluzi is a high-profile name to present nomination papers on Thursday when independent Baxter Natulu will open the nominations’ floor.

Other presidential candidates to submit papers on Thursday are Loudon Malingamoyo Phiri (National Salvation Front), Khumbo Kachali (Freedom Party) and Henry Mdebwe (independent).

Mutharika will be the one but last candidate to submit his form on Friday at 2pm.

Smart Swira (independent), Chimbuna Belekiah (United Independence Party), Damiano Ganiza (independent) and Hadwick Kaliya (independent) are other presidential hopefuls to take their turns on Friday.

There are 23 aspiring presidential candidates but the number might change as it is subject to the aspirants meeting criteria such as paying nomination fees of K2 million each.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker