Malawians sidelined from Caf committees


It seems Malawi is not only a minnow of Africa football on the pitch but also in the boardroom.

Little wonder, Malawi is among very few countries whose football administrators have not been included in the Confederation of African Football’s (Caf) 21 operational sub-committees.

To kick-start his reign, new Caf President, Ahmad Ahmad, chaired an Executive Committee meeting that led to the formation of the committees on the sidelines of a Fifa gathering held on Monday at the Sheraton Hotel in Manama, Bahrain.


Football Association of Malawi (Fam) Executive Committee members, Daud Mtanthiko and Daud Suleman, attended the meeting.

The gathering saw football association heads and top officials from Zimbabwe (Phillip Chiyangwa), Zambia (Kalusha Bwalya), Tanzania (Leodegar Tenga), Chad (Adoum Djibrine), Angola (Rui Da Costa), Seychelles (Elvis Chetty), Mauritania (Ahmed Yahya), Botswana (Mclean Letshwiti), South Africa (Danny Jordaan), Uganda (Moses Magogo) and Djibouti (Souleiman Waberi) appointed into the committees.

The committees will be tasked with organising competitions, handling referees, the media and legal affairs, among many others. It is unclear if the officials were taken on board through a vote.


However, with a few countries such as Swaziland, Mozambique and Malawi sidelined, it is strange that some FA heads, such as Da Costa of Angola, will serve in two committees—for organising Under-17 Africa Cup of Nations and the media.

Full list of Caf committees

Emergency Committee

President: Ahmad


– Kwesi Nyantakyi (Ghana)

– Constant Omari (DR Congo)

– Fouzi Lekjaa (Morocco)

– Souleiman Waberi (Djibouti)

– Musa Bility (Liberia)

Committee for Revision of Statutes


Kwesi Nyantakyi (Ghana)


– Lamine Kaba Badjo (Gambia)

– Sita Sangare (Burkina Faso)

–Magogo (Uganda)

– Letshwiti (Botswana)

– Edouard Ngaissona (Central African Republic)

– EChetty (Seychelles)

– Ahmed (Egypt)

Compensation Committee


Fouzi Lekjaa (Morocco)


– Monteiro Domingos Fernandes (Sao Tome)

– Ahmed Yahya (Mauritania)

– Hani Abo Rida (Egypt)

Standing Committees

  1. A) Finance Committee

President: Fouzi Lekjaa (Morocco)

Vice-President: Monteiro Domingos Fernandes (Sao Tome)

B)Organising Committee for Africa Cup of Nations

President: Amaju Pinnick (Nigeria)

Vice-President:Chiyangwa (Zimbabwe)

C)Organising Committee for African Nations Championship

President: Musa Bility (Liberia)

Vice-President: Wadie Jari (Tunisia)

D)Organizing Committee for Interclub Competitions

President: Fouzi Lekjaa (Morocco)

Vice-President: Mutassim Jaafar (Sudan)

E)Organising Committee for U-20 Africa Cup of Nations

President:Tarek Bouchamaoui (Tunisia)

Vice-President: Ahmed Yahya (Mauritania)

(F)Organising Committee for U-17 Africa Cup of Nations

President: Da Costa (Angola)

Vice-President: Adoum Djibrine (Chad)

(G)Organising Committee for Women’s Football

President: Isha Johansen (Sierra Leone)

Vice-President:Magogo (Uganda)

(H)Organising Committee for Futsal and Beach Soccer

President: Magogo (Uganda)

Vice-President:Bwalya (Zambia)

(I) Referees Committee

President:Souleiman Waberi (Djibouti)

Vice-President: Lim Kee Chong (Mauritius)

(J)Technical and Development Committee

President: Bwalya (Zambia)

Vice-President:Souleiman Waberi (Djibouti)

(K)Committee for the Management of Club Licensing System

President: Tenga (Tanzania)

Vice-President: Jordaan (South Africa)

(L)Committee for Legal Affairs

President:Ahmed Yahya (Mauritania)

Vice-President: Augustin Senghor (Senegal)

(M)Committee for Fair Play and Social Responsibility

President:Almamy Kabele Camara (Guinea)

Vice-President:Isha Johansen (Sierra Leone)

(N) Media Committee

President: Pinnick (Nigeria)

Vice-President: Hedi Hamel (Algeria)

(O) Medical Committee

President: Djibrine (Chad)

Vice-President: Yacine Zerguini (Algeria)

(P)Marketing and TV Committee

President: Jordaan (South Africa)

Vice-President: Da Costa (Angola)

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker