Site icon The Times Group Malawi

Malinga Mafia, Gwamba, Tay Grin top UMP nominations

The organisers of the Urban Music Party (UMP) Festival coming up next month, Nde’feyo Entertainment, on Saturday unveiled the nominees for the UMP Awards during a nominations party held at Club Amazon in Lilongwe.

The list has seen artists Malinga Mafia, Gwamba and Tay Grin topping the nominations.

Malinga Mafia leads the pack with five nominations followed by Gwamba and Tay Grin, who have four nominations each.

Tay Grin’s four nominations comes barely a week after he also got nominations in the Beffta and Watsup TV Africa Music Awards. He has since asked people to vote for him.

The nominations party according to the organisers, was spiced up with performances from Bucci, Charisma, Sangie and Classmates Music.

There were also performances from DJs Nathan Tunes and Maya.

The nominees list has several categories and they include Artist of the Year which has Blaze, Gwamba, Malinga Mafia, Tay Grin and Theo Thomson.

Gwamba, triumphed as the Artist of the Year in the 2015 edition has once again made it in the 2016 Artist of the Year category and will be looking at nothing but the best to succeed again in this category.

Gwamba, who turned born again, has also made it in the Song of the Year category where his song Better featuring Emm Q and Tammy is up against Tay Grin’s Chipapapa, Levels Remix by Malinga Mafia, Mwini Zinthu by Ril B and Blaze and Wadutsa Pompa by W Twice and Nepman.

The Album of the Year category has Acoustic Heat by Saint, Captain Long John by Phyzix, Flawless Heart by Malinga Mafia, Theo Thomson’s White Elephant and Bucci’s Worth the Wait.

In the Video of the Year category, the nominees are Tay Grin’s Chipapapa which he collaborated with Nigeria’s star 2Baba, Levels Remix, Single Tonight by Zani Challe featuring Nigeria’s Patoranking, Dan Lufani’s Sweet Banana which he collaborated with Nigeria’s Kcee, and The Other Side by Tsar Leo.

In the category of Producer of the Year, the names are BFB, DJ Sley, Gaffar, Sispence and Tricky Beatz while in Best Video Director the nominees are Ben Bei, Essim, Ron CZ, Sukez and VJ Ice.

In the category of Best Afro-pop/ R&B Artist, the nominees are Blaze, Bucci, Dan Lu, Kell Kay and Theo Thomson while in the category of Best Hip Hop the list has Fredokiss, Gwamba, Martse, Phyzix and Tay Grin.

Female artists have also not been left out in the awards as their Best Female Artist category has Aycee James, Beanca, Rina, Sangie and Zani Challe while in the Best New Artist, the nominees are Charisma, JJC, Kelvin Sings, Purple C and Ril B.

The category of Best Dancehall Artist has JJC, King Chambieco, Purple C, Malinga Mafia and Saint whilste in the category of Best Gospel Artist, the nominees are Faith Mussa, Suffix, Gwamba, KBG and Patience Namadingo.

The UMP Awards are part of the annual UMP Festival, an event that, according to the organisers, is aimed at celebrating the country’s urban music, arts and culture and was instituted by Nde’feyo Entertainment in 2009.

This year’s edition will be the fifth and will be held on November 6 at BAT ground.

T h e organisers said recently that final results will be compiled by the U M P Festival executive team together with a representative of the judges and that the winners will be announced during the main event at BAT.

The 2015 edition awards attracted mixed reaction from the people with others questioning the names of the other winners.

In last edition, apart from Gwamba Song of the Year went to Martse’s Mwano featuring Kell Kay, Best New Artist was Sangie, Producer of the Year went to Tricky Beatz, Music Video of the Year went to Janta’s Divorce while Lifetime Achievers went to Mafunyeta and Criminal A.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Exit mobile version