Site icon The Times Group Malawi

Mawu/FMB Short Story Awards prizes increased

The prizes in this year’s Malawi Writers Union (Mawu)/FMB Short Story Awards have been raised.

Mawu President, Sambalikagwa Mvona, confirmed yesterday that the prizes have been raised as part of motivating writers to participate in the competition.

The first prize will see the winner walking away with K300,000 from K250,000 last year while the second and third-place winners will receive K150,000 and K100,000 from K125,000 and K80,000 last year, respectively.

There will also be two consolation prizes of K30,000 each, with the Most Upcoming Writer pocketing K25,000.

The other prizes are Most Imaginative (K50,000) and Best Women Entry (K60,000).

Mvona said this year’s competition will be run differently in that they would want to reactivate writing in the country and, at the same time, give the sponsors mileage through the contest.

“We would like to thank FMB for being there since 2005. They have shown that they are a friend indeed and we hope they will continue. The competition has helped us to develop writing and unearth talent in the country,” Mvona said.

He called on writers to participate in the competition.

“We want more new writers to participate; this should not be a platform for only established writers and I also call upon women to participate,” Mvona said.

The Mawu boss said the competition is now open and that writers should start submitting their works.

“We don’t have time but writers should start working on their stories. We will be receiving entries up to November 15. The awards will be given on December 16,” he said.

Mvona said the competition is open to all Malawian writers both in the country and in Diaspora but was quick to point out that manuscripts should not have been published before.

“Again, this year, we want writers to stick to local stories with Malawian situations. We have a lot of stories out there. The stories should not exceed 2,000 words and should be typed on A4 paper with Times New Roman as the font,” he said.

Mvona said the entries sent should not bear a name and that the name should only be put on the cover letter.

The judges in the competition have indicated in previous contests that writers need to widen their net by writing stories on different issues.

Last year’s winner was Chikumbutso Ndaferankhande.

Meanwhile, Mvona has revealed that the presentation of the Religious Awards, spearheaded by Fattani, will be on October 8.

Mawu is also running the National Literary Award, formerly Peer Gynt Award.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Exit mobile version