MCP Members of Parliament sworn in


There was jubilation at Parliament building Thursday when three newly elected Malawi Congress Party (MCP) Members of Parliament were being sworn in.

The three, Ulemu Msungama of Lilongwe City South East Constituency, Sosten Gwengwe of Lilongwe Msozi North and Lawrence Sitolo of Nsanje Lalanje were elected in October 17 by-elections.

The new lawmakers have since pledged to uplift the lives of people in their constituencies.


Msungama said he expects robust debates in the National Assembly.

“People voted us into these positions and, therefore, hope that everyone will do what voters want,” Msungama said

He said Parliament’s focus must be on improving the welfare of people.


The three were sworn-in by Chief Justice Andrew Nyirenda.

Nyirenda advised the new parliamentarians to respect the country’s Constitution.

Nyirenda said their election means the citizens have hope in them; hence, they should strive to protect and defend the Constitution.

Speaking just after the swearing-in ceremony, Leader of Opposition in Parliament, Lazarus Chakwera, said he was overwhelmed with the support that Malawians showed during the elections.

Chakwera said the October 17 by-election victory is a manifestation that Malawians have hope in the MCP.

Chakwera has, however, condemned police officers for blocking the road from Lilongwe Old Town to Parliament.

The officers, who used an anti-riot vehicle, prevented the party supporters’ convoy from proceeding to Parliament to witness the swearing-in ceremony.

However, scores of the party’s supporters gathered outside Parliament building, chanting and singing as the swearing exercise was taking place.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker