Mec approves 9 candidates


By Peter Kanjere:

ALFANDIKA— The commission has put in place appropriate measures

Malawi Electoral Commission (Mec) has approved nine out of the 10 presidential aspirants who presented nomination papers to the electoral body in Blantyre last week, with Loudon Malingamoyo Phiri of National Salvation Front (Nasaf) disqualified.

In a statement released Thursday, Mec Chief Executive Officer, Sam Alfandika, says Malingamoyo and his running mate Ethel Makoko were disqualified because “the candidate met the minimum requirement of 10 electors in one district only out of the required 28.


“The candidate was requested to satisfy this requirement by 11th February 2019 but has not managed [to do so] to this date. An extension was made, to this date he has not complied.”

The disqualification of Malingamoyo leaves the eligible presidential candidates as President Peter Mutharika of the governing Democratic Progressive Party, Malawi Congress Party’s Lazarus Chakwera, Joyce Banda of People’s Party, John Chisi (Umodzi Party), Peter Kuwani (Mbakuwaku Movement for Democracy), Saulos Chilima (UTM), Atupele Muluzi (United Democratic Front), Cassim Chilumpha (Tikonze People’s Movement) and Reverend Kaliya (independent).

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker