Site icon The Times Group Malawi

Mec declares by-elections winners

Joshua Malango


By Wezzie Gausi:

The Malawi Electoral Commission (Mec) Wednesday announced names of winners of Tuesday’s by-elections.

Mec Chairperson Chifundo Kachale declared Wachepa Phiri of Alliance for Democracy as the winner of Mzimba East Constituency by-election, Overstone Kondowe of Malawi Congress Party (MCP) as winner in Nkhotakota North East Constituency and Joshua Malango of MCP as winner in Dedza Central East Constituency.

He also declared Osman Mapira of Democratic Progressive Party as winner for Balaka South’s Chimwalire Ward.

He described the electoral process as free and fair.

“The commission, therefore, declares this election as a credible one that has met legal requirements and international best practices generally in as far as free and fair elections are concerned,” he said.

He, however, bemoaned the continued absence of civil society organisations (CSOs), including National Initiative for Civic Education Trust, during by-elections.

“It should be stated that the law makes voter education continuous. Therefore, it is our expectation that all CSOs and their development partners migrate to the electoral cycle philosophy and conduct civic and voter education throughout the electoral cycle instead of when there are general elections taking place.

“We want to remind the CSOs that they are supposed to avail themselves at any election that happens, not only the general election. People still need to be civic educated on electoral processes,” Kachale said.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Exit mobile version