Mec identifies ballot paper printer


The Malawi Electoral Commission (Mec) has identified a security printer for the printing of ballot papers for the fresh presidential election.

On February 3, 2020 the Constitutional Court annulled the presidential election a decision which was upheld by the Supreme Court of Appeal following a petition by the opposition parties Malawi Congress Party (MCP) and UTM that the election was marred by irregularities.

In this regard, the commission commenced electoral processes such as presentation of nomination papers by aspiring presidential candidates and the official opening of the campaign period.


Through a statement issued Friday signed by the commissions Chief Elections Officer, Sam Alfandika, the identified printer is a Dubai-based company.

“The company is Al Ghurair Printing and Publishing LLC. Their physical address is as follows: Al Ghurair Printing and Publishing LLC Masafi Compound, (Behind Fairmont Hotel – Shaikh Zayed Road) 2nd December Street, Satwa, PO Box 5613, Dubai United Arab Emirates The company has been identified after getting a No-Objection from the Public Procurement and Disposal of Assets Authority (PPDA),” reads part of the statement.

The commission further disclosed that the identified printing company is the same that printed ballot papers for the May 21 2019 Tripartite Elections.


However, according to the commission, despite identifying the printer the exercise has been put on hold pending setting of polling date by Parliament which started meeting yesterday.

“The new Commission, once in place, will also have to decide and guide on supervision and observation of the printing process by itself and political parties’ representatives in view of the Covid-19 pandemic and travel restrictions. The Commission will advise stakeholders of the period for the printing and delivery of ballot papers once all details become clear. Signed at Blantyre this 5th day of June, 2020,” reads the statement.

The commission approved three presidential candidates to contest for the highest office of the land.

The three; President Peter Mutharika who is leading Democratic Progressive Party and United Democratic Front Alliance, Lazarus Chakwera torch bearer of the Tonse Alliance and Peter Kuwani of Mbakuwaku Movement for Development.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker