Meke Mwase names squad


By Mphatso Malidadi:


Malawi national football team caretaker Coach, Meke Mwase, has named experienced and youthful players in his final 20-member squad set to leave for eSwatini this morning through Chileka Airport in Blantyre.

Seasoned strikers Chiukepo Msowoya of Nyasa Big Bullets, Moyale Barrack’s Gastin Simkonda and Be Forward Wanderers hitman Zicco Mkanda have returned to the side.


Flames under-23 players such as defender Charles Petro, Hassan Kajoke, Patrick Phiri, Chimwemwe Idana and Mike Mkwate have also been included in the squad that will face eSwatini on Saturday in the 2020 Championship of African Nations (Chan) first round first leg qualifier.

Mwase said he was happy with the composition of the squad ahead of the match set for Mavuso Sports Centre in Manzini.

“The majority of the players were part of the Under-23 squad that participated in the joint 2020 Tokyo Olympics and Under-23 Afcon qualifiers.


“It was not easy to come up with the final squad because competition was stiff,” he said.

The following is the Flames’ full squad:

Goalkeepers: Ernest Kakhobwe and Brightone Munthali.

Defenders: Dennis Chembezi, Stanley Sanudi, Peter Cholopi, Charles Petro, John Lanjesi, Gomezgani Chirwa and Trevor Kalema.

Midfielders: Alfred Manyozo Jnr, Patrick Phiri, Mike Mkwate, Chimwemwe Idana, Micium Mhone and Chikoti Chirwa

Strikers: Simkonda, Mkanda, Msowoya, Hassan Kajoke and Khuda Muyaba.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker