Mervin Nkunika elected Nomads top fan


Be Forward Wanderers Supporters Committee on Sunday ushered in new faces, following the expiry of the term of office for previous office bearers.

Wanderers supporters braved heavy rains in Blantyre and assembled at the team’s Club House where Mervin Nkunika was confirmed Chairperson unopposed.

His predecessor, James Chiutsankhondo, withdrew from the race.


Nkunika said his main task would be to enforce discipline among the supporters.

“Our team struggled last season with fines due to indiscipline among our fans. We want to sensitise the supporters on their role. Being a supporter means helping the team, not expecting to benefit from the team,” he said.

Wanderers Chairperson of the Board of Trustees, Rashy Gaffar, described Nkunika as a passionate Wanderers fan.


“He is not an ordinary person. He has been there for the team. No wonder, no one expressed interest in challenging him. The team expects a lot of things from him and his committee. Our plea is that they should live up to their words. We do not need problems in the team because of supporters. We are one family and we need to work together for the benefit of the team,” he said.

Witness Kanyemba was elected First Vice Chairperson after beating Tyson Bonongwe 211-42.

Dinesi Chitsulo and Samuel Mponda were elected Second Vice Chairperson and Secretary unopposed, respectively.

Raheem Latif was elected Treasurer.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker