Ministry shakes up local councils

Muhlabase Mughogho

The Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development has made some changes in leaderships for nine local councils in the country.

The ministry’s spokesperson Muhlabase Mughogho confirmed that about eight District Commissioners have been moved to other councils and departments.

The affected councils are Mangochi, Mulanje, Balaka, Mchinji, Mzuzu City, Mwanza, Ntchisi, Mzimba and Ntcheu.


Mughogho said the transfers are normal and that they are aimed at enhancing performance reforms which the ministry introduced a year ago.

In addition, Mughogho said the transfers have also been made to fill gaps which have been created by the death of Mzimba DC Thomas Chirwa and the retirement of Bester Mandere in August this year.

In the new postings, Moses Chimphepo has been redeployed from Mangochi District Council to Ministry of Disaster Management and Public Events as Director responsible for Disaster and Recovery.


Raphael Piringu has been moved from Zomba District Council to Mangochi while Smart Gwedemula has been transferred from Ntcheu District Council to Zomba District Council.

“Francis Matewere has been moved to Ntcheu from Mwanza District Council; Peter Jimusole has been moved from Ntchisi to Mchinji replacing Mandere who is retiring. Lusizi Nhlane is heading to Ntchisi as DC from the ministry where he was a director.

“In addition, Macloud Kadammanja has been moved to Balaka District Council from Mzuzu City, while Emmanuel Bambe is now DC for Mzimba from Balaka District,” Mughogho said.

Mughogho added that the Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development will soon announce the new Chief Executive Officer to replace Kadammanja at Mzuzu City Council.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker