Moc appoints new commissioners

BEEFING UP COMMISSIONS—Kaputa (right) and Mhango

Malawi Olympic Committee (Moc) has appointed new commissioners to help in its operations.

Moc Secretary General Captain John Kaputa (retired) said the commissioners are mandated to serve for two years.

“We had to appoint commissioners with specific expertise to help us in various operations for our commissions [committees] such as technical, media, strategic plan and women and sports,” he said.


Kaputa said they believe the commissioners will help improve Moc’s mandate through technical expertise.

“As a board we need support and that is why we have appointed and reappointed others,” he said.

The technical commission has Hope Chisamanga, Isaac Phiri, Willy Kumilambe, Benedicto Tsinde, Patricio Kulemeka, Mary Waya, Yona Walesi and Dennis Phiri.


James Kaunda, Jimmy Kadewere, William Nyirenda, Godfrey Phiri and Pyson Likagwa are members for the sports and environment commission whereas strategic plan has Dennis Kumwenda, Arox Kamng’ona, Chancy Malamula, Lisungu Banda, Osbourne Banda and William Nyirenda as members.

The athletes commission has members such as Tereza Master, Ammara Pinto, Kefasi Kasiteni, Francis Munthali, Brave Lifa and Areneo David.

Women and sports commission has members like Magret Chikuni, Carol Bapu, Georgina Msowoya, Carolyn Phiri, Magret Chawawa and Ellah Banda. Senior Chief Kaomba has been reappointed in the judicial commission alongside Wapona Kita. Justice Jabbar Alide is the other member.

Moc went to polls at Sunbird Nkopola Lodge in Mangochi in March where Jappie Mhango was re-elected president.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker