Msonda, Mwakasungula, Mambala in new boards


Former Publicity Secretary for the opposition Peoples Party (PP), Ken Msonda, who recently joined the ruling Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) and human rights activists Undule Mwakasungula, Boniface Masa and Luther Mambala are among the new board of directors appointed by President Peter Mutharika to three statutory corporations.

The government announced yesterday new boards of directors for Southern Region Water Board (SRWB) which is now chaired by Mambala, who is also Malawi Congress of Trade Unions (MCTU) President, Small Medium Enterprise Development Institute (SMEDI) now chaired by Lance Mbewe and Public Private Partnership Commission (PPPC) whose chair is now Lamion Gama.

Msonda is a board member for the PPPC, other members being Elia Bodole, Rosemary Mkandawire and Secretary to the Treasury, Secretary for Industry, Trade and Tourism, Secretary for Economic Planning and Development and Solicitor General.


Mwakasungula and Masa are board members for SMEDI together with DPP’s Ngozi Harawa, Winnie Gondwe, Ronald Likomwa, Traditional Authority Maone, Judith Ngwira, Bertha Nachuma, Francis Ndende, Sheikh Dinala Chabulika, Dennis Wachepa while some ministries are ex-officio members.

Members for SRWB include Ken Chilewe, Traditional Authority Kalembo, Pastor Peter Phiri, Ruth Laisi, Wellington Mandowa, Yona Mlotha, George Namatumbo, Joyce Chikukula, Rev. Baxter Maulidi and representatives of Local Authorities and three ex-officio members as prescribed by Law.

Chief Secretary to the Government, Lloyd Muhara, in his letter dated February 27 2017, says Archbishop Brighton Malasa is chair for Airport Development Limited and not Dr. James Maida who is Chairperson for the National Herbarium and Botanical Gardens as was communicated in the appointments of the first 18 boards on February 20 2017


Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker