National Youth introduces under-17 league


NATIONAL Youth Football Association (NYFA) has set up under-17 football leagues parallel to the FMB under-20 Youth League across the country.

The association is running the under-17 league with funding that was meant for the Presidential Cup, NYFA Chairperson, Chimango Munthali, confirmed.

“Instead of holding a Presidential Cup, we decided to use our allocation to run an under-17 league where we already have FMB Under-20 League structures. We are doing this in line with our vision of setting up developmental leagues in every district,” he said.


“Our idea is that players from the under-17 league should graduate into the under-20 league. Similarly, we will also consider introducing either under-14 or 15 leagues to ensure transition of players. At the same time, it will be easy to curb age-cheating because once a player’s age is entered into our database, we will keep the records and easily track the players’ progress,” he said.

Currently, FMB league is in 12 districts— Rumphi, Kasungu, Mulanje, Blantyre, Zomba, Mangochi, Dedza, Lilongwe, Mchinji, Mzimba, Nkhata-Bay and Karonga.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker