Site icon The Times Group Malawi

New Mec commissioners appointed

Lazarus Chakwera

President Lazarus Chakwera Wednesday named four people as new commissioners of the Malawi Electoral Commission (Mec), replacing four commissioners that were removed by the court over their irregular appointment.

The High Court recently ordered the firing of four Mec commissioners— Jean Mathanga, Linda Kunje, Arthur Nanthuru and Steve Duwa— saying they were illegally appointed by former president Peter Mutharika.

Chakwera has since appointed Richard Chapweteka nominated by the Malawi Congress Party and Francis Kasaila, Emmanuel Fabiano and Ms Caroline Mfune— all nominated by the DPP.

A statement from the Office of the President and Cabinet, which Secretary Zanga-Zanga Chikhosi has signed, indicates that Chakwera has appointed the new commissioners effective June 9.

“…in exercise of powers under Section 4(4) of the Electoral Commission (Amendment) Act of 2018, His Excellency the President Dr Lazarus McCarthy Chakwera has appointed …commissioners of the Electoral Commission,” the statement reads.

Mec is expected to hold by-elections on June 29. It is also conducting a constituency demarcation exercise.

Exit mobile version