Nyasa Big Bullets omit duo


The future of goalkeeper Ernest Kakhobwe and defender Miracle Gabeya at Nyasa Big Bullets hangs in the limbo as the pair has been left out in the team’s 30-member squad.

Bullets released the squad yesterday which includes new signings and promoted players.

However, Kakhobwe and Gabeya who were among three players that rejected the terms of the new contracts, are missing from the list.


Bullets Chief Administration Officer Albert Chigoga downplayed the issue, saying the TNM Super League holders can make other signings before the season starts.

“We indeed have released the provisional squad for this season and we will not comment on the players who are not appearing on the list but chances for other players joining the club are still there if necessary,” he said.

Gabeya, who joined the team in 2012, said he was not bothered with his omission from the squad.


“I went for training they sent me back. I am currently training on my own and if they still believe I am not part of the team for this season then it is still fine,” he said.

On his part, Kakhobwe said he was unworried.

“I believe in God and I know that this is happening for a reason. God knows what will happen next. I am not saying anything bad about Bullets because they made me who I am today. I was not pleased with the terms they offered me. I feel I should have been offered,” he said.

The list also included new signings defender Hadji Wali, who was released by Silver Strikers and midfielder Mphatso Magaleta, who has been signed from relegated Ntopwa FC.

Bullets Reserve goalkeeper Clever Mkungula is also on the list, having been promoted.

“The club has offered new contracts to the players whose contracts expired at the end of 2020/21 football season. Similarly, seven players promoted from the Reserves Team have been offered senior contracts,” the statement read.

“Left-footed winger Robert Saizi is another new player to have joined the club from Play Football Malawi Academy; the player will be registered as semi-senior and will therefore feature for both Senior and Reserves teams.”

The full list of Bullets squad is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Rabson Chiyenda, Richard Chimbamba, Clever Mkungula.

Defenders: John Lanjesi, Eric Kaonga, Nickson Nyasulu, Hadji Wali, Blessings Mpokera, Yamikani Fodya, Precious Sambani, Gomezgani Chirwa, Kesten Simbi.

Midfielders: Henry Kabichi, Yankho Singo, Chimwemwe Idana, Mphatso Magaleta, Ernest Petro, Thomson Magombo.

Wingers: McFallen Mgwira, Patrick Mwaungulu, Misheck Seleman, Robert Saizi, Precious Phiri, Alick Lungu, Righteous Banda, Stanley Billiat.

Forwards: Lanjesi Nkhoma, Anthony Mfune, Babatunde Adepoju, Hassan Kajoke.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker