Site icon The Times Group Malawi

Nyasa Music Awards finally here

After a long wait, the Nyasa Music Awards (NMAs) are finally here and will be held at Comesa Hall in Blantyre Friday night.

The NMAs were inaugurated last year and this is the second coming where people will be looking at nothing but the best.

Last year, the organisers were forgiven for the mistakes simply because it was their inaugural show but having learnt lessons, now it’s time to do it better.

Ahead of the grand finale, the awards however, have been heavily criticised especially the nomination list.

Some quarters feel the list has not been well done and that there was no proper research made to come up with the nominees.

For example on the category of Best Group, the list has groups such as Nyasa Gurus, who have not been active. The other groups making the list are Zathu Band, Bossaro Music Group, Classmates and Homegrown.

However, one of the members of the organising team, James Makunje Jr, said the nominees list is intact and complete and that it would not be changed.

‘There were mixed reactions on the nomination list but let me say it here that nominees will never change. People have their own opinions and whether they are hundred percent accurate,  is hard to please everyone,” Makunje Jr said.

Other players have also criticised the NMAs organisers for engaging South Africa’s Somizi as the host.

But Makunje Jr said it is a big step for them having Somizi, who is well-known as the host of the awards.

“We would like to cross the borders just like Nigerians have done. It is a big step having Somizi, who will co-host with our very own Judith Emcee. The focus is on exposing artists and our talent. We have a better insight in this,” he said.

Makunje Jr said the country needs to dig deeper and open up the channels that will make other countries start looking into Malawi and see that there is talent.

He said Somizi will jet into the country today ahead of the awards tonight.

There are close to 22 categories in this year’s awards and they include Album of the Year which brings a contest of Lawi’s Sunset in the Sky, Sangie’s Painless, David Kalilani’s Fore Runner and Lucius Banda’s Crimes..

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Exit mobile version