Over 40 nominated for Sport Awards


Four foreign-based Malawians are among the nominees for this year’s Malawi Sport Awards scheduled for Bingu International Convention Centre in Lilongwe tomorrow.

The list has South Africa-based duo of Amazulu forward Gabadinho Mhango and John Maduka who is coach at Maritzburg United.

Also making the list is Italy-based Malawi National Women’s Football Team captain Tabitha Chawinga and boxer Ellen Simwaka, who is based in South Africa.


Multi-talented athlete Asimenye Simwaka, Stanislaus Phiri, Joseph Phiri (both taekwondo), and veterans Henry Moyo and Mary Waya have also been nominated, among others.

Sports Council Public Relations and Communications Officer Edgar Ntulumbwa said the shortlist was concluded after a rigorous process.

“We have over 40 athletes, officials, associations and programmes that have been nominated. It should be noted that all processes and procedures in coming up with the finalist were followed and different stakeholders and committees at different levels were consulted before the final list.


“All the finalists, therefore, are invited to attend the event, where winners will be announced on the day,” Ntulumbwa said.

The awards have 18 categories including junior female and male sportsperson, sports administrator of the year, non-citizen sports personality of the year, best umpire/referee, coach and national team of the year.

Ntulumbwa said the overall winner will pocket K1 million whereas winners in each category will get K500,000.

Every nominee will also receive K100,000.

The following is the list of the finalists at random:

Veronica Manda, Taonga Kamwendo, Angelina Nyirenda, Moses Misoya, Brave Chipokosa, Sean Joseph, Susan Namangale, James Chiutsi, Bright Limani, George Maguire, Vivek Ganesan, Thulani Maphosa, Malawi men’s beach soccer team, Malawi men’s senior team, Malawi women’s national football team, Tabitha, Mhango, Stanislaus Phiri, Joseph Phiri, Ellen Simwaka, Asimenye Simwaka, Taonga Kamwendo, Mphatso Sukile, Moses Misoya, Chess in Schools Programme, Para Sport Against Stigma (I’mpossible programme), Ascent Academy grassroots football development programme, Dedza District , Phalombe District, Karonga District, Bernadetta Kwimbira, Mercy Kayira, Easter Zimba, Pachisi Nyasulu, Enos Chatama, Meck Mwase, Times Group, MBC, Nation Publications Limited, Kickboxing Association, Chess Association of Malawi, Malawi Paralympic Committee, Waya, Martha Nyekanyeka, Maduka and Moyo.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker