Penalty statements


Part 2
Rule 5-3 covers the circumstances concerning a ball that a player deems unfit for play. The penalty statement is as follows;
*If a player incurs the general penalty for a breach of rule 5-3, there is no additional penalty under this rule.
So, if a player claims that their ball is unfit for play and continues play of the hole with a different ball, if it is subsequently ruled that the original was not, after all, unfit for play, the player incurs the general penalty for the breach of rule 5-3, but not an additional penalty for wrongly substituting a ball.
The penalty statement under rule 6-4, Caddie, states:
*A player having more than one caddie in breach of this rule must immediately upon discovery that a breach has occurred ensure that he has no more than one caddie at any one time during the remainder of the stipulated round. Otherwise, the player is disqualified.
The penalty statement under rule 6-8, Discontinuance of Play, Resumption of Play:
*If a player incurs the general penalty for a breach of rule 6-8d, there is no additional penalty under rule 6-8c.
Rule 6-8d details the procedure that players must follow when they resume their round following a suspension of play.
If they do not follow this procedure they incur the general penalty of two strokes in stroke-play, or loss of hole in match-play.
Rule 6-8c states that if a player lifts their ball without a good reason to do so, fails to mark the position of the ball before lifting it or fails to report the lifting of the ball, they incur a penalty of one stroke.
However, the statement under the rule, which obviously only applies to stroke play, limits the penalty to a total of two strokes, even if the player has breached both rules.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker