Peter Mutharika names Cabinet


By Peter Kanjere:

President Peter Mutharika last evening named his new 24-member Cabinet which comprises 18 ministers and six deputies.

Mutharika and Vice-President Everton Chimulirenji double as Defence, Disaster and Relief Management and Public Events ministers, respectively.


Notable exclusion from the Cabinet is Goodall Gondwe, who has paved the way for Joseph Mwanamvekha as Finance, Economic Planning and Development Minister.

The new faces in the Cabinet are Mark Botomani, who has been appointed Information, Civic Education and Communications Technology Minister, a post whose last occupant was Henry Mussa.

Symon Vuwa Kaunda is back in Cabinet as Lands, Housing and Urban Development Minister followed by newcomer Benson Malunga Phiri for Local Government and Rural Development.


Jappie Mhango is back in Cabinet but this time around as Health Minister, with Ibrahim Salim Bagus hired as Industry, Trade and Tourism Minister and another new face, William Susuwele-Banda is Education, Science and Technology Minister.

Kondwani Nankhumwa has also retained his seat in Cabinet to serve the role of Agriculture, Irrigation and Water Development Minister whereas Bright Msaka and Francis Kasaila have been entrusted with Justice, Constitutional Affairs and Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, respectively.

Newcomer Martha Lunji Mhone Chanjo is in charge of renamed Labour, Skills and Innovation Ministry, Nicholas Dausi has retained Homeland Security Ministry headship whereas Ralph Jooma takes charge of Transport and Public Works Ministry.

Another new face in the Cabinet is Mary Navicha (Gender, Children, Disability and Social Welfare), Bintony Kutsaira (Natural Resources, Energy and Mining) and Francis Phiso (Youth, Sports and Culture).

Deputy ministers who have earned their places in the Cabinet are Chipiliro Mpinganji r a (Defence), Esther Majaza (Local Government), Martha Chiuluntha Ngwira (Education), Charles Mchacha (Transport), Grace Kwelepeta (Gender), Mungasulwa Mwambande (Natural Resources).

Mutharika has appointed Kalekeni Kaphale as Attorney General whereas Gondwe, Uladi Mussa, Grezelder Jeffrey, Chris Daza are special advisers on finance, parliamentary affairs, women and governance, respectively.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker